Our Countenance is important!

Today I was thinking about “countenance” as in the facial appearance or expression as a sign of mood, emotion, or character. The countenance actually expresses the inner working and or condition of a man’s spirit or heart.  The inner beauty, shame, guilt, turmoil, pain, or ugliness does show in a person’s countenance to some extent though it is not always easy to see. To be clear here I must say that I am not talking about beauty or ugliness as the world thinks of them.

Psalm 10:4  The wicked, through the pride of his countenance, will not seek after God: God is not in all his thoughts.

Let me explain what I mean by this.  I will use as an example a man that I have come to know recently who is very dear to me.
Upon first meeting him I thought that he always had such a sweet expression and appeared to be a kind man.  Not only that but he appeared to glow and even more at some times than others.  This attracted me to him and made me want to get to know him better as a person.
I still have not known him long but one thing I have learned about him is that the countenance on his face reflects the love of God that is in his heart. They say you can not judge a person from outward appearance but I am not sure that is always so true. The outward man tends to take on the appearance of the inner man. As we study the Word of God, spend time with Him in prayer and worship, and generally seek His will in our lives it really does show in our countenance.
The Bible says   “Ecclesiastes 8:1: Who is like the wise man? And who knows the interpretation of a thing? A man’s wisdom makes his face shine, and the hardness of his face is changed.”  So it is when one is in relationship with God that his face shines.  I call it wearing the love of God like a cloak.  This is the kind of countenance I want to have.  That glow that comes from the inner man is not easy to fake in my opinion.  The countenance of ones face speaks a multitude of things about a person.

“Psalm 42:11b  I shall yet praise Him, Who is the health of my countenance, and my God.”
Every day I see so many beautiful people as I go about my daily routines.  It is hard sometimes for me not to hug some of them when I see the pain in their eyes.  This world is a hard place and many times it beats down those that have a tender heart and sometimes they become bitter.  The only way I know to overcome this is to get into a relationship with Jesus. Only He can heal a broken heart and fill it with hope and love that is like a healing balm to our soul.
I am most always quite cheerful smiling, humming, singing or whistling a lot.  Most of the time I have a smile on my face even when I am alone and it is a reflection of the joy that God has placed in my heart.  Upon first meeting me sometimes people ask me why I am so happy.  I love it when people ask that question as it gives me a chance to tell them of the joy that I have found in Jesus.  This isn’t saying that I have not had hard times or heart break and sadness but it is that my Father in His Mercy has lifted me up and caused healing in my life.  The joy, hope and peace that He has given me is so precious and priceless!  I would not take for my walk with Jesus.  He has truly set me free.

I always say I am not judgmental but I guess I am really because I do judge a person by the countenance they wear.  In that countenance I can see their inner beauty no matter what they look like on the outside or at least I think I can. That inward beauty is there in all of us but as we seek relationship with God it grows and begins to shine like a light from the inside out.  This is the light that Jesus told us not to hide.
Matthew 5:14-16  Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid. 15 Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. 16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in Heaven.

So today as I meditate on His Holy Word and spend time thinking upon the things of God, it is my prayer that His love shines brightly upon the faces of those that have relationship with Him. All for His glory that the world will see the light in His people and be prompted to ask us from whence it comes.  And I pray that with boldness we will share with them the Good News that Jesus is our Savior and Lord of All!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites

RSS Deboriah’s Cozy Corner

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
